Traveling with GERD

I love to travel!  But those of us with GERD have special challenges.  How do we know if the restaurant we choose will be able to meet our needs?  How on earth do we achieve sleeping on a slant in a hotel room?  Well, its tough, but it can be done!  Let’s take a look at a few products that can help.

Slant Pillows

You can’t travel with bricks or wood blocks in your suitcase, but you can bring a pillow with you.  Some fold, like the MedSlant, into a nice size to carry on the plane.  Others would be a little more of a challenge.  Some are inflatable so that they flatten out nicely to fit in your luggage.

I bought the Jobri inflatable wedge pillow for travel.  Its great because if deflates flat to fit nicely in the bottom of your suitcase.  It comes with its own plastic pump for inflation and has a fast air release cap that enables fast deflation for packing.  Its not quite a high of a slant as the MedSlant pillow I use at home.  But works well.  I advise not inflating it too much because it gets sort of hard and uncomfortable.  Leave a slight ‘give’ for more comfort.  I ordered this online with no problems.  I opted for the 2 day shipping because I had a trip coming up.  I gota follow up phone call letting me know when it was shipping out and it arrived right on time!

BYOF (Bring Your Own Food)

To make sure you have a low fat alternative to salad dressing, bring your own packets!  I found a great site where you can buy all kinds of travel sizes of food and toiletries.  They are good brands, too!  I’d much rather have my own than have to eat a diet Italian dressing that most places keep on hand.  You can order packets of fat-free or low fat mayonnaise, fat-free salad dressing, coffee creamer, etc.  Check this site out for other travel-sized items and snacks as well.  http://www.minimus.biz

Leave a comment